Litter Committee Reinstated

Group will develop information projects and initiatives with town board approval.

After two weeks of back-and-forth about has been reinstated in the Town of East Hampton.

A litter task force was in place from 2000 to 2009 to address littering throughout town, but then the group disbanded.

, an East Hampton Town Trustee, asked Councilwoman Sylvia Overby and the town board's support for another committee. However, there was some concern, specifically from Councilwoman Theresa Quigley, that the committee needed a mission and specific purpose — not to just task it with litter.

It's mission is now to "create, develop and implement informational and educational projects, activities, initiatives and campaigns with town board approval that are designed to reduce and prevent litter, increase recycling, raise public awareness and encourage active involvement of the community in these efforts."

The town board approved the committee and its 15 members at a meeting on Thursday.

The members, approved on an annual basis, are:

  • Deborah Klughers
  • Eugene Garypie
  • Linda James
  • Joan Tulp
  • Sadie Klughers
  • Jane Huttish
  • Lisa Grenci
  • John Rooney, Superintendent of Recreation
  • Nina Friscia
  • Nanci LaGarenne
  • Kathleen Kirkwood
  • Arline Gidion
  • Howard Lebwith
  • Abigale McCann
  • Stephen Lynch, Superintendent of Highways


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something