News Alert
Flash Flood Watch in Effect at Noon Through…

Low Turnout for Uncontested Elections in East Hampton

Carmine Marino, William A. Vorphal Jr., and Michael Benton easily elected to boards in Montauk, Amagansett, and Springs on Tuesday.

Few voters went to the polls at firehouses where candidates ran in uncontested elections on Tuesday.

Carmine Marino was elected to a second term on the Montauk Fire District Board of Commissioners with 36 votes. A total of 37 votes were cast, but one was spoiled.

Marino, who is the vice chairman, serves on the board with chairman Joseph Dryer, Vincent Carillo, Jr., Edward Sullivan, and Dick White. Marino is the only member of the board who is not a member of the fire department.

In Springs, a newcomer was elected to the board of commissioners; Michael Benton, a firefighter and EMT, will join the board in January. He received a total of 20 votes.

Benton will replace Bruce Bates, who decided not to run for re-election after two terms.

William A. Vorpahl Jr. was re-elected to the Amagansett Fire District Board of Commissioners with 21 votes, which were the total number cast.

Vorpahl currently serves with Daniel R. Shiels II, the chairman, J. Kent Howie, the co-chairman, Carl Hamilton and Jack Emptage.

Meanwhile, in the Bridgehampton Fire District race between Tom Dombkowski and Philip Cammann, Dombkowski came out the victor, 138-to-118.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »