.

Have You Spoken To Your Children about Ashley Murray?

Missing for one week, the 16-year-old Peconic girl is on the mind of people throughout the South Fork. Has her case started a dialogue in your family?

Monday marks one week since Peconic teen Ashley Murray was reported missing. Just across the bay on the North Fork, the community has come together to try and find the 16-year-old girl to no avail.

Missing person alerts have been posted at businesses throughout the South Fork, and news outlets continue to cover the story, as we all wait for word about what happened to the girl who left her mother a suicide a note and hasn't been seen since.

We were wondering how East Hampton Patch readers, who are parents, have reacted. Has the situation sparked discussions in your house? Have your children or teens asked questions? Have you used the situation to start a dialogue with your kids about how they can reach out if they are in despair? Or are you not sure how to handle the situation?

We would like to start the dialogue here and support one another as we all navigate a situation that has struck very close to home. Leave your thoughts in the comments section below.

bernette March 04, 2013 at 03:17 PM
there is so many troubles in teens now a days , Its very sad, noting is worth losing your life over , the schools and parents should see and listen to this young girl , seems like we all get caught up in the day and don't see whats in front of us , I am one who is seeing how first hand how kids are cruel , my son has been pushed in a locker put in a garbage can had soda poured in his book bag and just last week found a dead bird in his locker that had ruined all his books , SAD and the school hears what they want to hear and see what they see , my son comes home sometimes and cries , I have to hear to take him to a outside therapist , well thank you town of east Hampton 3 month waiting list , and my ins dont cover private practices so i say new york state ,,,,,,,,,,,DO SOMETHING ABOUT FREE HELP FOR KIDS , and not about how much money the parnetns have to get the help needed
Shrinkgirl March 04, 2013 at 03:37 PM
Bernette: Thanks for posting you courageous words. East Hampton Health Care Center now has a child therapist available. I do not think there is a waiting list. You can contact Gail Shonfeld's office for the information or just go to the Center. Good luck.
Taylor K. Vecsey (Editor) March 04, 2013 at 03:40 PM
Via East Hampton Patch Facebook page: Mary Bromley wrote, "Since Katie Beers and I discussed this case on the radio a few days ago...I just posted on her FB page offering help. It is possible that the media attention could help or make it harder to return home."
Jennifer Dalia March 04, 2013 at 04:26 PM
Bernette, I am so sorry your son has to live through the ignorance of those cruel children. I was bullied in the 5th grade and now have a 7 and 4 year old and fear that they will have to face this. I know you went to the school. Do they have your complaints on file? I would file a complaint for every situation that occurs and if they don't comply With the anti-bullying act. Bring copies of your complaints to an attorney and file a case against the school district. Hang in there. Jenn
bernette March 05, 2013 at 12:03 AM
I called Gail office got redirected to a cell number of a lady asking if we needed in or out services for mental health . After speaking with this lady she was in hampton bays I got no response to address my issues so back to the story us parents try to help our kids but money talks so I fail again on this system .so all we can do is love our kids ad pray for there safety and tell them harming themself is not a option and hug them show them we care and do positive stuff keep there heads up....
Shrinkgirl March 05, 2013 at 12:45 AM
Bernette: Hang in there. She may be answering from Hampton Bays but she is definitely located in the EH Health Care Center under a grant from South Oaks Hospital outreach program. If you have further trouble I can help locate her. The other person to talk to at the Health Care Center is Sheila Rogers. Better to actually go over there.
Shawn Swartz Quinn March 05, 2013 at 01:31 PM
Bernette, call the police. That is harassment of a minor. It doesn't matter if it's in school.or at a public place the perpetrators need to.be held accountable. Here in Pa., that is what happens, these bad kids are prosecuted. We now have a police officer at each school. And our kids had and still have a huge impact on the 0 tolerance antibullying campaign started several years ago....get help for your son, yes, but also begin a campaign for change.
Evan Rofheart March 05, 2013 at 02:26 PM
My advice to anyone is bypass the schools on the South Fork. They will always give you talk, they hate action. Go to the police. And if that does not work, go to the DA. I am thinking of one school district with a big anti bullying campaign, but the school administration is it self a bunch of bullies.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »