Chief Will Take Seat at Commissioners' Table

The Montauk Fire Department's chief will trade in his white hat for a seat on the board of fire commissioners come 2014.

Richard Schoen, who will step down as chief at the end of the month, was elected commissioner on Tuesday.

He received 102 votes, while Dave Ryan received 43. There were two spoiled ballots.

Schoen has been a commissioner before -- he was appointed to fill an unexpired term.

Ryan, also a longtime member of the fire department, ran once before for commissioner.

In the Springs Fire District, current commissioner Ken Brabant Sr. was re-elected with 19 votes, according to secretary Danna Miller. He ran unopposed.

The Amagansett Fire District has not yet reported results. The current commissioner and chairman Danny Shields was running unopposed.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something